Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

Story first.  Me and my mom got to the theatre at 11:45, which was really dumb, I knew it was really dumb before we even got there.  There was one full row that was empty and that was the very first row.  That was not going to happen, so we sat on the stairs.  One of the theatre people with the glowing orange sticks checked the theatre before the movie started and didn’t tell us to find a seat, so that was dandy.  And then during the quidditch trials another orange stick carrier told us we were a fire hazard and we had to sit down.  Fortunately he was nice and found us some separate end seats further up so I wouldn’t have to get queasy in the front row.  I also missed the quidditch tryouts, rawr.

I’m not sure I can fully process the movie quite yet.  I need to watch it again.  So a list will have to suffice for now.

  • Straight up book to movie quotes.  Yay!  This movie seemed to take much more direct quotes from the book than the other movies have.  I can’t really remember what quotes were there.  Oh, lots of the dialogue from Slughorn’s full memory was stripped from the original.
  • My mom says that Jim Broadbent wasn’t a fat enough Slughorn, she also commented on his lack of walrus mustache.  I was perfectly happy with Broadbent though and a mustache would have made him look too much like Zidler.
  • Tom Felton

  • Draco, Draco, Draco, Draco.  Firstly, Tom Felton looks so old now and I’ve always believed he was a better actor than Dan.  This movie really proves it because here we finally get to see more of Tom as Draco adjacent to Dan’s portrayal of Harry.  Tom Felton can cry much better than Dan too.  The emotions that come out of Tom were perfect.  First he’s so incredibly cocky on the train, then comes the doubt and fear after Katie Bell and his first attempts with the cabinet, and then finally as he’s trying to kill Dumbledore.  It was perfect.  The suits and little briefcase satchel were kind of a hoot though.  Very Malfoy, but kind of out of place for Hogwarts.
  • Hey, hey, did you know Snape is a good guy?!  The beauty of the sixth book was that it had the whole fandom split.  Half were absolutely convinced that Snape’s final act was the kiss of death, he was a Death Eater, and the rest of us just knew that Snape was always Dumbledore’s man.  But with the movie, it makes it so painfully obvious that Snape is really good.  1) Snape and Dumbledore’s argument is much more prominent.  2) Dumbledore’s, “Snape, please,” is less pitiful and more commanding.  3) Snape doesn’t get as angry at Harry when Harry calls him a coward.  4) Also, Snape’s hair was less greasy, which obviously signals his goodness and cleanliness and willingness to use shampoo.
  • Where’s the Half Blood Prince.  The whole Half Blood Prince angle was sort of lost within everything else that was happening.  But, movies can never live up to the complexities of a Harry Potter book.  But Ron and Harry’s brief little struggle over the good book was priceless.
  • Speaking of priceless, drugged up Ron.  Rupert Grint pulled it off so effortlessly, it was perfect!  His facial expressions and throwing the chocolate box at Harry.  Oh man, it was great.
  • Lavender Brown, nope.  I didn’t think she was that pretty, my mom thought she was really pretty though.  I did think she did the lovey-dovey Won-Won stuff perfectly though.  All the nuzzling and fog hearts.  Tehe.
  • Awkward Ginny.  Bonnie Wright is beautiful and everything and she has this lovely face, but for some reason it doesn’t scream Ginny to me.  Bonnie just doesn’t look like a strong, out-going, independent Weasley.  It sounds kind of terrible, but I don’t really know how else to say it.  Bonnie has this soft look and it’s just not Ginny for me.  Plus that seductive Room of Requirement bit was just bizarre.
  • Cormac was kinda gorgeous, but that finger sucking at the first dinner party was just… just… lawlz.
  • Emma really stuck out for me for some reason.  I think she did everything really well.  The canary scene!  And it was a little weird with her straight out admitting to Harry that she likes Ron, but it was alright.
  • Teenage Tom looked much younger than I imagined, but his voice was spot on.
  • Weasley’s Wizard Wheezes!  It was amazing.  I did miss U-No-Poo though.

Okay.  I think that’s alright for now.  I’ll probably think of something later…

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

Leave a Comment