Rugby for reals

Way back in November, nearly 3 weeks ago, I played in my first (and only) rugby game. First of all, the end of November is COLD! And since I was obviously not a starting player, I spent the first part of the game jumping in place on the sidelines and shoving my ice cold hands into my armpits to keep warm.

I ended up playing scrum half back, which I had never ever played before and it really freaked me out. The scrum half gets to make a lot of decisions and yell at people, but considering I’ve never really played rugby, I didn’t feel so confident. “Scrum halves are often short and fast over a short distance and should also be very capable handlers of the ball. I pretty much only satisfy the “short” part.

In a nutshell, I roll the ball into the scrums and retrieve the ball from a ruck to pass it on. Definitely some moments of confusion, trying to grab the ball and not being able to roll the ball properly. But I had my moments. Doris complimented my quick retrieval of the ball from one particular scrum, and Amanda apologized for not catching one of my better passes.

In the end we won the game, only letting LSE (London School of Economics) score one try to our five, so my attempt at playing wasn’t completely disastrous. 😛

Since I have no pictures of me in my rugby kit, here’s some pictures from some rugby socials and events.

Leave a Comment

