Pottermore

Finally, finally, finally.  I got home after a night out with Joseph to find a Pottermore email in my inbox.  I mean, seriously, it’s almost the end of September already, it’s about time!  So, despite the fact that it was past midnight, I HAD to explore Pottermore.  Because I went to LeakyCon over the summer I was able to get a preview of Pottermore while the rest of the world was still trying to figure out “What the F is Pottermore?”  I’m not going to bother explaining what it is because at this point you can just look it up (but if you didn’t find the magical quill, then you can’t see for yourself until October).

Suffice it to say, it’s awesome.  And I absolutely love to read all of the extra information from Jo about everything.  The illustrations of the scenes are lovely and rich (think picture book, not video game).  And everything is so true to the book.  One thing I forgot about was Hagrid’s hut.  In the movies it’s this constantly evolving stone building, but in the book it’s supposed to be a wooden hut, and there it is, illustrated on Pottermore as a wooden hut.

Also, newsflash, I’m not actually a Ravenclaw.  Sorting was one of the things that I was most looking forward to because J.K. Rowling created the test herself.  You can’t get any more legit than that (other than actually having a Sorting Hat).  And as it turns out, I’m a Hufflepuff!  For some reason I kinda of actually thought this might happen.  And, I swear I’m not disappointed at all.  People keep saying at least I wasn’t put in Slytherin, but honestly, I could totally have embraced that… green’s totally my new favorite color of the month.  In case you’re curious, these are the questions and answers I gave (but not everyone gets the same questions).  No judging!

 

  1. I would most hate it if people called me selfish. (Other options were cowardly, ordinary, ignorant)
  2. I would drink the goblet filled with the smooth, thick, richly purple drink that gives off a delicious smell of chocolate and plums… yeah, that’s my sweet tooth talking. (Other options: The golden liquid so bright that it hurts the eye, and which makes sunspots dance all around the room./ The mysterious black liquid that gleams like ink, and gives off fumes that make you see strange visions./ The foaming, frothing, silvery liquid that sparkles as though containing ground diamonds.)
  3. If a troll was going berserk and was about to destroy several irreplaceable items, this is the order I would save them in: student records going back 1000 years, a mysterious handwritten book full of strange runes believed to have belonged to Merlin, then a cure for dragon pox.  But, now I’m thinking I should have switched the first two.
  4. I’m most excited to learn about “everything I can.” (as opposed to apparition/disapparition, magical creatures, transfiguration, flying, hexes and jinxes, or castle secrets
  5. If I heard a strange cry late at night while walking all alone I would save my ass and withdraw into the shadows while thinking about what sort of defensive and offensive spells I know.
  6. Stars of moon, I say stars.
  7. Right or left, right for me.

And voilà, a Hufflepuff is born.  One of the good parts to being sorted into a house that isn’t Gryffindor is that there’s lots of previously unknown information about the other houses.  Let us also appreciate the crests for each house (notice how each house is represented by an element in the background: earth for Hufflepuff, water for Slytherin, fire for Gryffindor, air for Ravenclaw).

And the process to get my wand…

  1. I am short for my age.
  2. I have dark brown eyes.
  3. I choose the right path to the castle. (Not to the forest or the ocean.)
  4. I choose the big gem in the chest of magical objects (Other options being silver dagger, scroll, dusty bottle, old glove, mirror, gold key).
  5. I’m most afraid of the dark. (fire, small spaces, heights, isolation)
  6. I’m proud of my imagination.

*Drumroll* 9 3/4 inches, alder, phoenix feather, surprisingly swishy…  And according to Mr. Garrick Ollivander…

Alder is an unyielding wood, yet I have discovered that its ideal owner is not stubborn or obstinate, but often helpful, considerate and most likeable. Whereas most wand woods seek similarity in the characters of those they will best serve, alder is unusual in that it seems to desire a nature that is, if not precisely opposite to its own, then certainly of a markedly different type. When an alder wand is happily placed, it becomes a magnificent, loyal helpmate. Of all wand types, alder is best suited to non-verbal spell work, whence comes its reputation for being suitable only for the most advanced witches and wizards.

I’m done nerding out now.

 

2 thoughts on “Pottermore

  1. All the best to the hufflepuffs! I hope you guys beat those gryffs!

  2. Go ‘Puffs! Thanks for sharing your actual questions and answers–FWIW, that’s a very strongly Hufflepuff set of responses, with a lesser Ravenclaw influence and absolutely no Gryff or Slyth. 🙂 I always wonder to what extent people are mixes, since I tend to be mixier myself, but this was like, puff, puff, puff, claw, claw, puff, puff…

    I think it can be hard to ‘spot’ Hufflepuff traits like unselfishness, common sense, and decency: those who lack them don’t notice, and those who have them take them for granted. Maybe the quiz identifies qualities that are less obvious to us, but more important.

Leave a Comment

