To stress, or not to stress?

I realize it’s 12:26 AM as I begin to write this, which means it’s April 6th and not still April 5th.  But, I haven’t gone to bed yet, so obviously it is still April 5th and it won’t be April 6th until I go to bed and wake up in the morning.  Or something like that.  Feel free to play along.

I have a paper to write for Friday.  It only has to be 5 pages, double-spaced, so really only 2 and a half pages long.  It’s about the Bible.  Specifically, how imagery is used in the book of Job to elaborate on certain points.  Or at least, that’s what I think my paper is going to be about.  Originally it was going to be a discussion on goodness versus holiness, but I ditched that because I had no idea what to say or think about that.  Now, I have Wednesday and Thursday and a bit of Friday to write this entire paper.  It’s really not a hard task, but I feel guilty because we were given the assignment nearly two weeks ago.

I also need to be doing some serious work on my printmaking project.  Right now that mostly involves stressing over photoshop, and photocopying, and cutting, and fiddling around with proportions, and things.  But, it’s a real time chomper.  But, I didn’t mean for this post to be a laundry list of all the things I need to do.  I mostly just wanted to say that even when my life feels stressful (like now) it’s only stressful because I procrastinate.  And, even when my life feels stressful there are people who have it way worse than me (like the girl who has 5 papers to write this week and next– that’s just harsh).

Fortunately, I’m a fairly mellow person and the stress doesn’t hit me too hard.  Usually confident that things will get done on time, I have faith in myself. 😀

Last thing.  It’s a bit of a question/favor.  For our final art project we’re doing a group portfolio where everyone in the class makes 16 copies of their print so that we can give a copy to each person in the class, plus the professor.  That was we have a little souvenir from the class and an original piece of artwork from our peers.  For this to make sense there has to be something that ties all of the pieces together.  It could be a theme, like… “Origin stories” where we make art based off of what we believe to be our own origin stories.  One example the professor threw out was to buy fortune cookies and do something about the fortune we get.  Or it could be more systematic, like choosing an adjective and a noun from a hat and doing something based off of the adjective-noun phrase.  So, the question/favor.  Does anyone have any ideas?

Leave a Comment

