So… college?

Because I’m a psychic, I predict that this is going to be a short post in which I will try to cram as much info as possible.

It’s week 8 of school. And it feels so weird that I’m in college and not high school. The whole living where you work and where you learn is odd. But not too odd. It’s a little enjoyable. The official names of the courses I’m taking are Linguistics: Data, Theory, Exp, Introduction to Anthropology, Classical Mythology, and Evolution: Dinosaurs to Darwin. I got pretty lucky what with the not having 8:30 classes thing. My earliest class is at 10:20, and sometimes my first class isn’t until 1:20. It’s all I can do to not sleep the morning away every Tuesday.
I got a job too. I don’t think it really counts, but it’s pleasant. I work at the circulation desk of the nice, big, new, lovely library. Sometimes I work the first shift, from 8 to 10, so the only people who are there are the crazies who get up early to go to the library. That means I can just sit at the desk and do my own homework, or read. Reading is fun.
I also want to make note that I have a lot of Asian friends and that has never happened to me before. Ever. Some of them are international students, so that’s cool, and some of them aren’t, like me, so that’s cool too. They are very awesome people and I love how comfortable we are with each other. I’m pretty sure Annie and Tra My have slept together in Tra My’s bed the last two nights, and there also seems to be a lot of butt slapping and bongo playing amongst us.
Also, I think I’m going to get fat. This food looks horrendously bad for me… even the vegetarian options, which, yes, I do eat sometimes. Not to mention the waffle bars, sundae bars, cupcake bars, bar, bars, bars…

Next topic…  101 in 1001.  I have successfully completed 2 more tasks (it sounds like an accomplishment, but in the whole scheme of things, it isn’t).  Way back when I finished my first goal I also finished another one: 42. Purchase and use a real address book.  I got a cute one from Borders, and I’m actually going to drop everything right now and write my uncle’s new address in it.  Ok, that’s done.  I also did 22. Wish upon a shooting star.  About a month ago I went up to the university cemetery (spooky!) and, because Colgate is in the middle of no where we were able to see lots and lots of stars.  It was a very clear, crisp night and it was probably the second best sky I have ever seen (the first being when I was at Girl Scout camp a long time ago and we couldn’t even find the big dipper there were too many stars).  We saw lots of stars and the milky way was just visible… and, lucky me, we saw two shooting stars as well.  I can’t tell you what I wished for because… well, 1) it won’t come true if I tell and 2) I don’t really remember what I wished for.  It was quite nice.  Here’s the 101in1001 video, and just as a warning, the audio is totally lagging.

Last thing.  I recently read a book, Pope Joan by Donna Woolfolk Cross.  (Note: the last time the book was checked out was 10 years ago.  What a lonely book)  Basically, it’s about Pope Joan, a female pope from the 800s who gets away with her strange life by posing as a man.  It was very good, I recommend it (and if you aren’t going to read it, then just read the afterword which explains the case for Joan’s existence).  Point of the story: Pope Joan, the movie is being released this month… but it’s a German movie.  Sad pandas for me.

No, wait, now it’s the last thing.  I had the flu a couple weeks ago, and not of the swine variety.  It sucked.  And it was my own fault because I was too scared to get a flu shot.  But, because we have to be extra safe and stop the spread of disease on campus, I was quarantined.  So, I spent four days with 2 other flu-ridden girls in an empty apartment.  We had to wear surgical masks when dealing with the common folk, and our food was delivered in sad little take-out boxes, and we were just generally very pathetic.  I’m all better now, except that I have a nasty cough that gets annoying really quickly.  Is there a max number of cough drops you should eat in an hour?  I hope not.

I’m done now and obviously not a psychic, this was a longish post.  Have a nice day.

2 thoughts on “So… college?

  1. yes actually there is a limit. you can overdose on cough drops/get high off them silly chica

  2. i like the mentioning of me and Annie

Leave a Comment

