Books I regret reading

Another post based off of a forum topic: Books you’ve regretted reading.

I adore books.  I love to read.  I devour words (they’re tasty).  But sometimes I read books that I kinda sorta maybe dislike totally and completely despise.


1)  The House of Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne- I chose this book because it was short.  That is almost always a horrible reason for choosing a book (and on the other hand, choosing a book only for its massive size is also a bad idea unless you are planning on submitting yourself to some sort of solitary confinment, in which case a big book might help you pass the time).  I don’t really remember the book at all, but the chapter that I remember the most was also the worse one.  The narrator spends the whole chapter trying to wake up the dead man in the chair because he doesn’t realize the dead guy is dead. This is how it basically goes:

Narrator: Wake up man-who-isn’t-moving!
Dead Man:
Narrator: You’re going to miss all your appointments. Your important appointments!
Dead Man:
Narrator: Why aren’t you waking up?  Hey, what’s that big red spot on your chest?
Dead Man:
Narrator: OMG.   Are you dead?


2) Brave New World by Aldous Huxley- Here is my weakness.  Books that explore some meaningful concept or philosophy usually fly right by me.  I read for pleasure and I  get pleasure from the plot, not from the philosophy.  I don’t even remember what this book was dissecting or satirizing, but I did not like it one bit.  Actually, at this point I don’t even remember what I didn’t like about the book!  Obviously, I didn’t find it that memorable.

On a happier note, and still on a book related note: I am currently working on 4 books.  The Anglo Files, The Fiery Cross, The Game, and Paper Towns.  Yay, books!

Leave a Comment

