Fail already?

BEDA post #1:

It’s only the first day of April and I’m cutting it pretty close.  It’s almost 10 and I’m only just writing my first April blog post.  Man, I’m horrible.  Procrastination is my best friend and my worse enemy.  I mean, we all do it (some more than others…) and we all know we shouldn’t.  What makes us procrastinate so much?!  I ask that myself that question a lot (or rather I shout it at myself).

Well, the answer to that question is pretty easy.  On some level, I don’t want to do whatever I’m procrastinating.  For some things it’s obvious.  For example, writing an eight page research paper on the similar themes in To a Mouse and of Mice and Men is something I don’t want to do, so I put it off.  Writing this blog post is something I want to do, but know I might have a little difficulty in thinking of something to talk about it, so I kind of don’t want to do it at the same time.  Reading a book is something I want to do, but I can’t do it until I write the research paper and this blog post.  It’s a vicious cycle.  (Because right now I’m writing the blog post, but completely ignoring my paper.)

It’s such a horrid thing to do.  Because I don’t even do anything worthwhile when I’m procrastinating.  Inventing the cure for breast cancer, for example, would be a worthwhile endeavor, instead of writing my English paper.  Wasting time making horses sing is not a worthwhile endeavor.

So, I am making a resolution.  I am not going to procrastinate by leaving things for the last minute.

That was a lie.

Let me make this sound a little more believable: I am not going to leave this particular paper on Of Mice and Men for the last minute.  I will have it all written and done before next Tuesday night (which is the last night I can work on it).

That was not a lie… I think.  I’ll tell you how it goes.  Success will be celebrated with balloons.

Leave a Comment

