NaNoWriMo= Naked Nosedive Wrist Motion

The Naked Nosedive Wrist Motion (NaNoWriMo for short) is a complex series of gestures done to accelerate a very high fall…. Yeah, that makes no sense, even as a joke, so let’s start over.

nanonovember120x2381NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. Every November a bunch of crazies try to write a whole novel, of at least 50,000 words, in just one month.

I think it’s a wonderful idea. You just write and write and write with reckless abandon. But, it only works if you just go with it. You don’t have time to worry about the mechanics of your novel, whether or not this or that scene helps develop the characterization of the protagonist, or if there are too many subplots. You just have to write for the sake of writing and for the sake of finishing or else it will never get done. And then when you finish you can say that you’ve written something. It might not even be that good, but it’s a start. And from there you can fix it, but you have a starting point.

I sound like I’ve done this before, don’t I? Like I have felt that feeling of accomplishment. But, I haven’t…. I’ve tried to do NaNoWriMo in the years past, but I’ve never broken 1,000 words. I blame it on the month. November is not a good month. It’s during the beginning of the school year, but not early enough for there to be very little work to be done.

So, maybe I’ll try to do it this year, but I highly doubt any success. But, in the meantime, I think you should check it out and try it out. And good luck to anyone who does try. I wish you a writer’s block-free NaNoWriMo.

Leave a Comment

