Books, glorious books!

I do this thing called reading, mostly because I am this other thing called a nerd.  And, more specifically, I read this book called Paper Towns because I am, more specifically, this thing called a nerdfighter.  (I highly suggest you follow those links.  And then follow the links that those links give you because you will be led on a road of awesome that you will just not be able to turn away from.)

So, yeah, Paper Towns.  It. Is. An. Awesome. Book.  Actually, in all honesty it has to be awesome because John Green wrote it.  Obviously I’m a little biased.  But what can you expect?  This book is nothing short of shoving your hand into John Green’s throat and pulling out words and gluing them onto paper.  That’s what this book is, it is the words of John Green.  I mean, you read it and it’s like John Green is whispering a story into your head.  Are these weird analogies starting to creep you out?  Because they’re starting to creep me out, as well as the over useage of John Green’s name.  I should mix it up and throw in some J Scribble in there.

Ordinarily I wouldn’t read books like this, but for certain special authors I make exceptions, obviously John Gr-J scribble, I mean, is an exception.  And by “books like this” I mean those utterly young adult fiction, coming of age, beach read books.  I’m not saying there isn’t a place for books like that in my heart, but it’s just not what I usually (this is a very loose meaning of the word usually, by the way) look for in a book.  But, this is sort of odd because I alway (this is also a very loose meaning of the word always) end up liking those kinds of books.

So, blah, blah, blah, books, books, books.  PAPER TOWNS!  I enjoyed this book.  I would reccomend this book.  And if you’re reading the book with the eyes of a true nerdfighter, you will never be more excited to see the word “awesome” written in print than when you see it on the pages of Paper Towns.

Now if you haven’t read Paper Towns and you don’t want to be spoiled you may not want to read the rest of this paragraph and skip down to reading about Sense and Sensibility (unless you have a deep dislike for Jane Austen, in which case you can just stop now).  So, for the whole book I was just waiting for Q to find Margo’s dead body.  I mean, Alaska died in Looking for Alaska, so I figured John had no qualms about killing off incredibly cool female characters.  But, at the same time I was absolutely positive that Margo was alive, biding her time until she came home.  It’s a weird feeling, feeling two things at once and knowing that both have to be true.  I really couldn’t decide how I thought the book would end except for that both would happen.  That Margo would be simultaneously dead and alive.  After reading this book I’ve also decided that I like being the sheltered kind of nerd, the kind that doesn’t drink or smoke or whatever, like the ones from J Scribble’s novels.  I have also decided that Q’s journey to Margo is incredibly unrealistic and that his unrealistic journey to Margo makes their goodbye so much sadder.  That he would defy the realm of ‘possible’ only to say goodbye with barely more than a kiss is almost tragic.

Sense and Sensibility

Now, like I said, I must also mention Sense and Sensibility because it is no less a book compared to Paper Towns. In fact, I’m sure most people would say it is the better of the two, but at this moment I can neither say that is true nor untrue.  It is a good book, as long as you like Jane Austen and her era.  But, it is also not a good book when you have to read it in a weekend because you have to write an essay on it for Monday.

While many people might love to hate Mrs. Ferrars for favoring Robert over Edward and being that snobby mother who thinks her sons are too good for every other girl in the world, I love to hate Lucy Steele.  She’s just such a bitch.  And not even a good bitchy bitch that you can immediately hate, but the sneaky kind that oozes a thin film of bitch where ever she walks and thinks bitchy thoughts you can see in her eyes.  Lucy is just so, ugh, and I love that Elinor can see right through her.  You go girl.  I think I’ve written quite enough for now, but I do want to add for my own reference, that none of the men, except maybe Colonel Brandon were very developed as charcters.

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen, finished Nov. 2, 2008
Paper Towns by John Green, finished Nov. 3, 2008

3 thoughts on “Books, glorious books!

  1. Paper Towns was so awesome, it survived a chem class fire. (Not my copy, some random persons on blogTV.) I was so excited everytime I saw the word “awesome”- I almost fangirled the first time I read it! You can defenatly see the nerdfighter influence in it, especially compared to his other books.

  2. “I really couldn’t decide how I thought the book would end except for that both would happen. That Margo would be simultaneously dead and alive.”
    Oh, man. It’s like Schrödinger’s Cat, for Nerdfighters. That’s pretty much how I felt while reading.

    “I must also mention Sense and Sensibility because it is no less a book compared to Paper Towns.”
    YES. I dislike when people play the cop-out,”classic” card when drawing comparisons contemporary fiction. They are very, very different entities.

    You’re a very thoughtful blogger. I really enjoy reading your posts. ^^

  3. PAPER TOWNS WAS AMAZING<3

Leave a Comment

