I feel pretty

Every girl is talked to about it: self-esteem.  How to improve your self esteem.  The importance of self-esteem. Granted, it isn’t being bashed over our heads the way it used to be in elementary school.  Because, boy, they really liked using that hyphenated word, self-esteem.  I guess we were more impressionable back then and they were really just taking advantage of our mushy minds to mold them in a beneficial fashion.  And I’m certainly not going to hold it against them.  I would thank them if it wasn’t so cheesy.  (Jeez, who is ‘them’ anyways?  I guess it’s the teachers and parents and general other adults.)

But, the sad truth is, I don’t always look in the mirror and think, “Man, I feel like a million bucks.”  (I seriously had a DARE instructor who told us we ought to say that to ourselves every morning.)  But, this isn’t supposed to be a depressing, I’m-so-ugly post.  This is supposed to be happy, because, TODAY I FEEL PRETTY.

I get that way every so often.  I’ll just feel especially nice.  I mean, my day wasn’t particularly good.  Maybe my hair was slightly more shiny or voluminous or cooperative and I subconsciously noticed it.  Or maybe I reapplied my make-up extra expertly.  Or maybe my Sesame Street T-shirt was giving me feel-good vibes (that sounds sort of creepy).  Or maybe I secretly had a really excellent day (I highly doubt that).  I don’t know what it is, but today I just feel pretty.

I feel pretty damn it.  Just give ma tiara and let me prance around in a gown for a day.

Okay, I’m done with the narcissism.  I promise tomorrow I will be back to the normal level of pretty.

On a side note, I’m really obsessing over The Show by Lenka and You Don’t Know Me by Ben Folds (except I like this fan made version better).  And while I’m at it, I think I’ll mention The Resolution because Stephenie Meyer directed it.

(By the by, this was written yesterday.)

Leave a Comment

